Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

The Power of Four September 7, 2009

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 1:21 pm

DSC00054

I’m still limping a bit when I go down stairs, but overall I survived the Charlottesville Women’s Four Miler.  Despite not stretching my quads as much as I should have, I managed to beat my time challenge – under 39 minutes.  My boss had challenged me to do the four miles in under 39 minutes, which would have meant less than a 10 minute mile (my normal pace).  Luckily the 3,299 other women, scores of volunteers, and amazingly supportive crowds were ample motivation to push me through miles two and three, which were the hardest.   I finished in 37:09!  My sister, aunt, and mom all beat their own time goals as well.  How about that for the power of four?

Go ladies!

Go ladies!

 

All in all, this event is a wonderful way to support breast cancer patients in Charlottesville as well as showing support for all those affected by this common disease.  As of race day, they had reached 75% of their fundraising goal, so thank you to everyone who donated!  I can’t wait to do this again next year.  Here is to my sister and all other survivors.  And my best wishes to everyone affected by breast cancer.  May this race be just one small part on our way to finding a cure.

The Power of Four + One (a couple more years, and she'll be running with us!)

The Power of Four + One (a couple more years, and she'll be running with us!)

 

3 Responses to “The Power of Four”

  1. Jen Says:

    A great race and a great weekend — thank you so much, sissy! You are an inspiration!

  2. Meema Says:

    Okay ladies…it was a super weekend and many thanks to Jen and Scott for hosting all of us…plus to Jan for making the trek up. Mason and Coop were awesome…and Jeremy and Scott’s support pushed the girls to give their best. Now…please send the pics…in printable form so we all have proof that we pushed and surpassed our own personal bests! Love meema

  3. Angela Says:

    Awesome job! Breast cancer is close to my heart as well. I had no idea your sister was a survivor! Congrats on your 37 minute time!


Leave a Reply

