Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

The Waiting Game September 2, 2009

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 10:29 am

I’m doing a lot of waiting this week it seems.  Waiting for things to pick up at work.  Waiting for news of layoffs.  Waiting for when we get to leave for Charlottesville and a weekend of fun ahead.  Waiting for Mason to get used to her new school.  Waiting for Cooper to get out of his “big boy bed” in the middle of the night.  Waiting for the new fall shows to start (only one more week until Glee!)  Waiting, waiting, waiting…

I’m not a fan of waiting.  I like instant gratification.  I don’t like to buy things online because I don’t want to wait for it to be mailed to me.  (But on the other hand, I love having the surprise of a package at my doorstep after so much waiting that I forget what I ordered.)  I don’t like hearing, “We’ll see.” or “Just wait it out.”  I probably push my kids a little to get to the next phase or milestone just because I’m done waiting for it to happen on its  own.  (Case in point – Converting Cooper’s crib is just my selfish way of pushing the need for new bed linens for when he moves into a big boy twin bed.  I’ve found the comforter I like and need the excuse to buy it.)   I especially hate waiting for freshly baked cookies to cool down.  I often burn my tongue eating them too fast because I don’t want to wait to taste them to make sure they are good.

Funny that I hate waiting and yet I urge Mason and Cooper every day to learn PATIENCE.  I do think I have patience (you have to with kids!), but I don’t like to wait.  Does that make any sense?

The reality is that I know things will happen in due time.  And I know it’s stupid to wait for bad things to happen because they just might not.  And that’s a good thing!

I do think things will pick up at work.  I do hope the layoff rumor is untrue for Jeremy and his coworkers.  I do know that Mason will eventually feel comfortable at her new school with her new teacher and new friends.  And I can only hope that she will then not be a terror when she comes home.  It is possible that Cooper may  never get out of his bed in the middle of the night.  We’ve gotten through 4 nights now with no incident – I need to have faith!  I need to remember that the start of the new fall shows means the start of being addicted to our DVR at night.  I should embrace the free time by reading or sitting outside on these gorgeous nights drinking a beer with my husband.

And finally, it’s ok for me to be impatient waiting for the weekend to come.  I can’t wait to see my sister.  I can’t wait to run the 4 Miler in support of breast cancer programs in Charlottesville with my sister, aunt, and mom. (4 Women, 4 Miles… 4 the girls!)  I can’t wait to see friends from college I have not seen in a few years.  I can’t wait for Scott’s pizza.  I really am just super excited for the fun ahead this weekend.  I have to find something good amidst all these negative thoughts lately.  Here’s to my patience and positivity!

 

2 Responses to “The Waiting Game”

  1. Jen Says:

    We’re super-excited too and really looking forward to this weekend! I can definitely relate to the sentiments captured here — why is it that we have such a hard time appreciating the moment? Perhaps it is hereditary…? 😉

  2. Meema Says:

    Probably a good idea to go sit out on the front bench with Jeremy and enjoy these beautiful late summer evenings. What’s the proverb…for everything there is a season? And who am I to offer advice on waiting…only that I know whenever I get movin a little too fast, and become a bit too rushed and impatient…well, a higher power usually has an unusually canny way of helping, should I say making, me slow down–whether it be a broken wrist, strained neck or ankle, or someone who’s really, really upset with me because my words got out before I had time to think about what I was saying. The good thing is that you have captured your dilemma, your challenge so eloquently…so true that we can all recognize the same in ourselves. Thank you, Ro, for this gift…and keep blogging! Love meema


Leave a Reply

