Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Another Baking First August 24, 2009

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 9:14 pm

I baked my first homemade cake last week.  Despite my love of baking, I have never made  a cake from scratch.  Why would I need to when Duncan Hines gives me the key ingredients to great cakes?  But it was a challenge I had to face.

After much searching, I went with the Perfect Party Cake.  For my mom’s birthday, I figured it sounded just right.  It had a hint of lemon in the cake and the icing.  Light and fluffy for a summer birthday. 

All in all, I think it turned out well.  I was not a big fan of the buttercream icing (I like the thicker, heavier versions with confectioners sugar), but everyone else seemed to enjoy the lightness of it all.  Call me crazy.

The finished cake just after completion.

The finished cake just after completion.

 

Ummm...  what's that?  That wasn't there before.

Ummm... what's that? That wasn't there yesterday.

 

That looks like a guilty icing-filled belly to me.

That looks like a guilty icing-filled belly to me.

 

The party must go on.  Happy Birthday, Meema!

The party must go on. Happy Birthday, Meema!

 

One Response to “Another Baking First”

  1. Meema Says:

    It was a fantastically delicious treat for my ??? birthday!
    You’ve got the baking gene for sure! And this cake be Duncan Hines by a long shot! Love meema


Leave a Reply

