Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

A New Toy August 17, 2009

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 7:31 pm

Everyone loves to get new toys, right?  It gives you something new to focus on, play with, and enjoy when all your older toys have lost their appeal.  Mason and Cooper don’t get too many new toys except for birthdays and holidays.  They often get new books (something I need to get serious about cutting; libraries are there for a reason), but new toys are for very special occasions.

Considering that my own kids get new toys so rarely, I’m sure you are not surprised that Jeremy and I almost never get new toys.  Aside from our new car last July, the “family” Wii at Christmas, and Jeremy’s iPhone that he got around the new year, we haven’t had many excuses lately to get a new toy.  (Looking back at that list, it seems we had a temporary lapse in our “toy” budget.)

Well, I found just what I needed last week, and I’ve been playing with it and enjoying all the fun it has to offer.

No, it’s not a new kitchen gadget like the Premium Margaritaville Trio Frozen Concoction Maker (not sure why anyone needs to have 3 pitchers of margaritas made at the same time – but if they did, I’d be there drinking with them!).

No, it’s not a new Digital SLR Camera (although that would be really nice).

It is….

Google Reader.

Yes, it’s true.  I’m in love with my new toy.

It might not seem like a toy to you, but like I said, I have to take what I can get when it comes to fun new things for myself.

I read a lot of blogs online.  A lot.  So most days, I go through my list of bookmarks looking for new posts.  But on Google Reader, I can subscribe to all of the blogs I read, and it will show me when there is something new to read.  One stop shop!  It’s amazing, and I’m addicted.  I’m still learning about all the cool features, but overall, I’m happy with my new, completely free toy.

 

2 Responses to “A New Toy”

  1. Angela Says:

    You are so awesome! Free fun can’t be beat!

  2. I love google reader too! If you use FireFox, there is a great addon that turns your feeds into a nice magazine style page – http://www.Feedly.com

    I love it for all the mommy blogs I follow – including yours now! =)


Leave a Reply

