Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Carrying the Banner August 12, 2009

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 10:47 am

I tried to introduce Mason to a new musical last week.  While she did not take to it as I had hoped she would, I was still reminded of why I love musicals, especially Newsies.

This was Disney taking on a true historical moment.

This was Disney taking on a true historical moment.

The music is great.  The storyline is interesting and about 70% historically correct.  But, in truth, it is the star of the movie that carries it.  It is Christian Bale’s second successful movie (after Empire of the Sun), and it’s no wonder why he became a star.  It was also the director, Kenny  Ortega’s musical debut.  (of HSM fame)  With these two, how could you go wrong?

Can you tell me what hit movie his buddy in this picture was in four year prior?

Can you tell me what hit movie his buddy in this picture was in four years prior?

Ok, ok…  So it’s a bunch of boys singing and dancing.  I get why Mason was not drawn to it yet.  But give her time.  “Cowboy” is no Mary Poppins or Maria or even Gabriella.  But I think she’ll see the light one of these days.  In the meantime, I’m going to enjoy the soundtrack (Thanks, A.R.!)  I just hope I don’t get caught singing along and dancing in my seat at work!

Side note:  Over the summer after 7th grade, I attended Lyceum Drama Camp at Simpson Middle in Leesburg…  Our project?  Putting on a few scenes from Newsies.  I’ve loved it ever since.

 

One Response to “Carrying the Banner”

  1. Kristin Says:

    To answer your question about the Newsies picture, is that the kid from Big? Has he done anything since Newsies?

    Oh and I love the silly glasses pictures in the other post- I think Coop might be my favorite, but you all look fantastic! I don’t know why you don’t wear them more often. 🙂


Leave a Reply

