Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Garden of Flowers July 1, 2009

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 1:00 pm

I definitely do not have a green thumb.  I can barely keep houseplants alive.  I think it is because I do not have the patience to do the research for the best environments for the plants I have nor do I have the memory to remember to water them on a regular basis. 

That being said our yard amazes me every year.  Luckily we have the help of Sue, our family landscape architect, who guides us towards the right plants for our yard, our region, and our time.  She has helped us create a beautiful front yard.  (We can’t forget that all of our family has put in major sweat equity over the years to make this an amazing house.  Thank you all!)  Every spring, our yard pops with color.  Purples, yellows, and whites.  It is truly stunning. 

These day lilies just started blooming 3 days ago.  They are huge!

These day lilies just started blooming 3 days ago. They are huge!

 

Even Sue is amazed at how big they've gotten.  Definitely taller than me!

Even Sue is amazed at how big they've gotten. Definitely taller than me!

 

I insisted on white daisies.  Soon this area will be filled with blooms.  I can't wait!

I insisted on white daisies. Soon this area will be filled with blooms. I can't wait!

I love that these flowers come back year after year, no matter what happens.  It’s inspiring that something so delicate can brave the elements of winter, harsh heat, late frosts, torrential downpours and still come out beautifully when the time is right. 

On the side of our house, there is a leftover plant.  One we did not plant ourselves.  It doesn’t fit into our color scheme, but I could never get rid of it.  Just three flowers come out, and it often looks scraggly compared to the stiff stems of the day lilies and daisies.  But the stunning orange color gets me every time.

I'm surprised every year when this "leftover" plant blooms yet again.

I'm surprised every year when this "leftover" plant blooms yet again.

 

Finally, my yard/garden would not be complete without my favorite flower of all time.  I plan to line the backyard with this New England favorite when the time comes for the backyard makeover.  Unfortunately I don’t get to see it every evening when I come home.  I have to make a special trip to the backyard for it.  But I’ve been making sure there are always fresh blooms on our dining room table.  I have to enjoy it while they last!

Nothing is more beautiful than purple hydrangeas.

Nothing is more beautiful than purple hydrangeas.

 I love our front yard.  It has major curb appeal, and I love pulling into the driveway every evening, especially with a fresh cut lawn.  I’m hoping the hydrangeas will inspire us to soon move to the backyard to create our oasis. 

 

Leave a Reply

