Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

A Single Voice, Above The Noise July 1, 2009

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 12:36 pm
All the world's a stage for this one.

All the world's a stage for this one.

Mason has a great memory.   She pulls out memories from  months ago in casual conversation.  “Mom, remember when…”  She has recited movie lines out of the blue.  “If you have any orange, get rid of it!”  (HSM3 for those of you who don’t recognize that line.)  I’ve written about how much she amazes me many times, but the biggest amazement and joy I get from her memory is her ability to learn songs very quickly.

Soon after putting her in daycare at just 9 months old, she was singing “Frere Jacques.”  “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star” came after that and so on.  She picks up tunes and words of songs very easily.  And she LOVES to sing!  It’s a pretty good combination.  I love driving in the car with her singing along to her current favorites (Mason’s Music as it is dubbed in our house.)  It reminds me of all the great times driving with my dad.  He had a knack for knowing every word to every song.  Even if he didn’t like the song, he knew the words.  We would listen to the Oldies station and sing at the top of our lungs.  Good memories.  And I know I’m creating even more good singing memories with Mason.

Because of her love of music, we introduced her to musicals.  Mary Poppins, Sound of Music, etc.  We were then required to get the soundtracks from iTunes so that she could sing along in the car.  Lately it’s been HSM3 and Annie that have drawn her attention.  Click on the link below for a clip of Mason singing “You’re Never Fully Dressed” from Annie.  I will treasure this memory forever!

Mason Singing

 

2 Responses to “A Single Voice, Above The Noise”

  1. Angela Says:

    I have distinct memories of singing with your dad in the car. “Build me Up, Buttercup” stands out as one that I remember specifically listening to the two of you belt out on the way back from a soccer game or practice and every time that I have heard it since, I have thought of you. I know that Mason will have fond memories of singing with you, too. 🙂

  2. Annie Says:

    “She drives me crazy, Whoo, whoo.. like no one else..”


Leave a Reply

