Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Picking My Battles June 26, 2009

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 12:21 pm

I’ve always appreciated a made bed.  It’s just natural for me to make my bed every morning.  I don’t know when it started, but I can’t remember a time in my life where I have left my bed unmade.  I shudder to think of it.  I don’t understand how anyone can get into bed at night with the sheets all wrinkled from being messed up all day.  There is just something fresh and pure about pulling back the sheets at night.  Call me crazy.

Needless to say, I’m trying to pass this onto Mason.  She does well making her bed when I help her.  We pull the sheet up together, tuck it into the sides of her bed and then pull the comforter up.  Pretty easy system when we work together.  But, like any almost 4-year-old, she is wanting to do more and more by herself.  Just last night, Jeremy let her put the toothpaste on her toothbrush by herself and brush with no help.  (We can’t guarantee she is brushing as effectively as when we help, but it’s a start.)

So this morning I asked her to go make her bed by herself.  She was in her room for less than a minute when she came out and said, “Mommy, I just put the cover over the pillow today.”  Not words a mother with bed making tendencies wants to hear.  I peaked in her room, and sure enough, she had barely touched the bed.  It looked like this:

At least she tried.

At least she tried.

Please also note that pajamas on the floor.  I had asked her 3 times to put those in the hamper.  What was I to do?  Over the next 30 seconds, as I thought about my response, I thought about all the arguments she and I have over little things like throwing dirty tissues away or picking up game pieces…  Is any of it worth it?   I do want to teach her good values and manners, but at what cost?  And at what age?  She is only 3 and a half!  I have to pick my battles these days.  So I decided to not bug her more about it this time.  There is plenty of time to learn to do it by herself.  In reality, I like making her bed with her.  By helping her, I’m still teaching her the good values and manners.

And on the days we just don’t have time to make her bed together, I can always come home at lunch and do it so she still gets that “fresh” feeling when she climbs into bed later that night.

Aahhh....  Much better.

Aahhh.... Much better.

 

2 Responses to “Picking My Battles”

  1. Meema Says:

    A wise choice, my dear daughter. Bed making perfection comes slowly, as does general tidiness…like putting pjs in the hamper (remember the laundry shoot and the laundry monster?). Modeling is always the best answer. And patience. Then again, I have to ask myself where we all got this bedmaking in the morning gene? It is so ingrained…just like changing sheets at regular intervals…then again, how wonderful it is to slide into fresh, clean, crisp sheets on a warm summer’s eve or soft, clean flannels on a long winter’s night– all nestled, comfy, and ready for dreamland! Maybe it’s the reward that all is well, day has ended, and a new one awaits, fresh with possibilities after a good night’s rest. She’ll get the picture with time… just as you and Jen did… love meema

  2. Rachel Says:

    I totally picked my clothes up off the floor and made my bed this morning because I read this post yesterday! Old dog, new tricks. 🙂 Although my effort looked a little more like Mason’s than yours. Oh well.


Leave a Reply

