Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Happy Father’s Day/Weekend June 21, 2009

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 7:29 pm

Honestly, it’s been a crazy weekend.  Because of previous plans, we had planned for Saturday to be our “Father’s Day.”  But it ended up being a weekend full of Father’s Day fun.  When we woke up Saturday, Jeremy opened cards and presents, and then we headed to Woodside for pancakes.  No special day is complete without them!  We then got to meet up with some friends who were in town from Denver.  It was so great to catch up with them and meet their new daughter.  (Sadly, I forgot my camera!)

After a “fatherly” lunch of hamburgers and fries, we went for a drive on back roads through the country from Frederick to Columbia.  We were hoping the kids would sleep, but when do they ever do what we want them to do?  Some time at Columbia Mall followed by dinner at home and yard work after the kids went to bed finished out our first day of the Father’s Day weekend.

Today we drove down to Charlottesville to spend time with Jen, Scott, and Meema.  Such fun!  Mason and Cooper had a great time at the Splash Park, and Jeremy even gave one up for the team and got wet with them.   Talk about a great dad!

Hoping to find one of these closer to home!

Hoping to find one of these closer to home!

Jen and Scott grilled up some delicious pizza, and then we got to enjoy the true gift of the weekend!

Through my favorite baking blog, Bakerella, I got the idea to make hamburgers and french fries from cupcakes, brownies, and cookies.  Yum!  The inspiration can be found here.  And here is what I ended up with…

Daddy's Day Happy Meal

Daddy's Day Happy Meal

Sugar!!!  It was quite the overload.

Sugar!!! It was quite the overload.

I think they turned out pretty well.  Jeremy mentioned how this is where crafting and baking meet.  I have to agree.  I never found my niche in crafting, but with Bakerella’s blog for inspiration, I just might be able to bring the crafting into my baking.  This was definitely fun, and I was so excited to do it for Father’s Day.  My man deserves special treats like this since he is the best dad and husband I know (I’m a bit biased, though!)

 

One Response to “Happy Father’s Day/Weekend”

  1. Meema Says:

    The crafty, sugar-filled Dad’s Day treats were totally awesome, Ro. I’m impressed with your culinary talent. They were the perfect ending to fun Father’s Day and Jen and Scott’s pizza on the grill. Loved the Splash Park! And have some pics to share. The drive home brought thoughts of dads who weren’t with us… Alan, Clint, and Dad… they’ve taught us well!
    Love, Meema


Leave a Reply

