Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Smiling on a Monday? April 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 11:50 am

How often do you wake up smiling on a Monday?  For me, it is pretty rare.  But this morning, despite the alarm going off at 5am for Jeremy to catch a flight to Seattle, I woke up with a smile.  I happily made my way downstairs to work out.  I tried a new video by Jillian Michaels, and my butt was happily kicked!  The kids woke up, I cycled them through our morning routine,  we made it to school and me to work all by 7:45…  and all with a smile on my face.  How can this happen, you ask?  It’s Monday, you aren’t supposed to be smiling on Monday, right?

After a glorious weekend, I couldn’t help but smile.  Yes, I am sad this glorious weekend is over, but I take what I can get.  It started Saturday morning with a trip to Baltimore’s B&O Railroad Museum for Day Out With Thomas.  We had the majority of the family joining us – Kristin, Meema, Nana, and Papa – so it was great to share the fun with them.  Honestly, I was nervous that it was going to be this overcrowded mayhem of an event.  But it was so well run.  The museum has a lot of space, so things were spread out well enough that I never felt overwhelmed or crowded.  Mason enjoys Thomas, but isn’t his biggest fan (she just has a few books and a few trains), but she still enjoyed seeing all the trains at the museum and playing with the Thomas stuff they have as part of the exhibit.

After fun with Thomas, we went into Fells Point for lunch on the water.  It was a beautiful day, so even though my lunch wasn’t that great, I was glad to be with family enjoying a lovely early summer day.

Sunday started with some gardening (Well, honestly it was weeding. By saying “gardening,” I feel like I am sensationalizing it.  It was weeding; it was dirty.)  Then we hopped on our bikes, put the kids in the bike trailer, and rode to Bethesda with Kristin.  The Georgetown Canal Trail was shaded, so we didn’t get too hot.  The kids behaved until the very end when Cooper got a little annoyed with his bike helmet sliding over his eyes constantly.

The rest of the day was just errands, more “gardening,” and a delicious dinner.  All pretty simple Sunday stuff, but the kids behaved themselves, and that is what makes it glorious!

After all that, it was easy to wake up with a smile on my face this morning.  Over the weekend, I was reminded how great a day can be when the kids are good (good = only 1-2 tantrums a day!)  We have a lot of family centered weekends coming up, so I really hope that this trend can continue.

p.s.  Jeremy took the camera to Seattle before I could download the pictures from the weekend, so I’ll post them once he’s home.

 

Leave a Reply

