Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Have Key, Must Workout February 9, 2009

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 8:51 pm

I don’t think anyone could be happier to see a treadmill key than I was today.  It was a glorious moment when I heard Jeremy yell out “I found it!” 

Over a week ago, I had started a new lunchtime ritual of working out.  While it would never be more than a 30 minute workout, I realized that it was the only time I could really get it done without feeling the pressure or stress of everything else that should be getting done.  Not only would I get the exercise in, but it would give me the energy I need to make it through the rest of each day.  So when I came home last Wednesday, I excitedly changed into my workout clothes and headed downstairs to the treadmill.  I started up my iPod, went to grab the treadmill key, and oh…  it was gone!  No treadmill key = no working treadmill.  I asked Mason where it was (she was home that day with Nana), and she said Cooper took it.  I started digging around the basement – through toy bins, dollhouse furniture, Legos, crayon bins – still no treadmill key.  I called Jeremy who told me Mason had it last before he told her it was not a toy.  When I asked Mason again, she again blamed her brother (already learning to pass the blame!).  She said, “Let me ask Cooper.  Cooper, did you take it?  Yes?  Mommy, Cooper said he took it.”  Lovely – that will get me far.  Still no treadmill key, so I went back to work defeated with little energy to finish my day.

Over the weekend, we cleaned the basement and still didn’t find it.   I was close to succumbing to the thought that the key was lost in the kid and toy abyss.  But tonight Jeremy suggested we have fun with the kids and let them dump all the bins in the basement in hopes of finding that darn key.  After dinner, we raced downstairs, but before the dumping could begin, Jeremy opened a drawer in a little side table we have, and low and behold, I heard, “I found it!”  Yes, those sweet, glorious words, and I couldn’t have been happier.  Not only was the treadmill key found, but we had avoided letting the kids dump all the toys on the floor!  Who knows how we missed looking in this very obvious drawer, but I guess we just needed the fresh thinking.  Now I have no excuses – I have the key back, I must workout.

Speaking of working out…

Come and get it, ladies!

Come and get it, ladies!

 

Burn those calories, Princesses!

Burn those calories, Princesses!

 

2 Responses to “Have Key, Must Workout”

  1. Angela Says:

    Hysterical pictures. Now go get on the treadmill. 🙂 Can I call you the biggest loser now?

  2. meema Says:

    Now I know what you were talking about this evening when you mentioned the treadmill key! So glad the mystery is solved. More importantly, I loved reading about the mystery–truly, Ro, you have a refreshingly pragmatic and engaging “voice” when you write. Keep it up. You’ve got a fan here…and one who truly appreciates the daily grist and grind of parenthood!


Leave a Reply

