Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Kid-isms January 16, 2009

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 3:17 pm

There are always emails going around that have cute quotes from little kids.  I think I got one today about “butt dust” or something.  Anyway…  you know what I’m talking about.  Just like Bill Cosby’s “Kids Say the Darndest Things,” we get such joy out of a child’s misunderstanding of the world.  

We’ve been trying hard to teach Mason how to tell time.  Well, that might be a little lofty.  Mostly we’ve been trying to teach her that she cannot get out of bed in the morning until she sees a 6 in the first spot on her clock.  I thought that she would try to get around this rule by saying she saw a 6 at 5:56 or getting other numbers confused.  But she quickly learned this rule, and like clockwork, she has been coming up to our room at 6:01 on the dot for the past few days. 

I was really proud of her this morning because I was up with Cooper at 5am, and she still did not get out of bed.  She finally came out of her room after 6am.  When I told her how proud I was, she said “The 6 took a long time today, Mommy.”  It cracked me up.   I can just imagine her lying in bed watching the clock and waiting for the 6.  So that’s my “kid-ism” for the day.

She's so mature these days.

She's so mature these days.

On a similar note, Cooper has learned a new phrase.  “Uh oh.”  He loves to say this so much, he has started the dropping game just so he can say “Uh oh” every time.  Drop a sippy cup – “Uh oh.”  Drop a piece of waffle – “Uh oh.”  Drop a princess – “Uh oh.”  It’s pretty darn cute.  (Except for the fact that my back is aching with all the picking up I’ve been doing!)

How about I drop this notebook?  Uh oh!

How about I drop this notebook? Uh oh!

 

2 Responses to “Kid-isms”

  1. jenniferpease Says:

    Great pic of Mason! Can’t wait to see them both (and you and Jeremy!) soon…

  2. Angela Says:

    It’s funny that we are trying to get the same lesson across to Colin. “You may not leave your room until you see 7-0-0.” Some days it works, but more often than not, he decides that he is sick of waiting. We even found him in Christopher’s room at 6:30 am after having built himself a very elaborate train track around the crib and rocking chair. We were not pleased, but the track looked really cool. I am wondering if I just need to give in and say 6-3-0 is ok. Man, why can’t he be a sleeper inner like me?


Leave a comment